This and That 3/30/2014

Comments 14 Standard

One thing you give up when you write a blog – at least a personal one like Bree’s blogs have been – is most of your secrets.  After doing this for over five years, I’m pretty certain my readers know almost as much about me as my husband and children do.  Oh, I have a few tidbits I haven’t – and won’t ever – share with anyone except family, but for the most part, all of you know me pretty darn well.

On the flip side of that is how well I don’t know most of you.  Oh, there are a few who have been with me practically since I wrote the first word of the first blog.  You’ve commented, you’ve emailed, we’re friends on Facebook – we even chat on the phone occasionally and meet up on Mackinac Island for lunch or dinner or for a Rum Runner at the Pink Pony!  That little group I’m pretty familiar with – your likes, your dislikes, your kids and grandkids, etc.

I wish I knew all of you as well as I know those few, but I guess that’s pretty unrealistic.  When I came up with those 10 questions on Thursday, I had no idea I’d hear from so many of you.  It was awesome to read your answers and even more awesome to learn what an interesting, well-traveled, and diverse group read this blog each week.  Your answers were sometimes funny and sometimes poignant; but they were all enlightening, and I was very impressed by the thought you put into them.

I especially loved how a few of you began to interact with each other over some of the answers – especially music.  And I was very touched when several of you reached out to Melody J., who mentioned the sad loss of sweet Oreo, her beloved kitty.  You are such a tender-hearted family of readers – another reason I love you all so much.

A few things I learned:

  • Favorite Song:  Except for the love theme from “Somewhere in Time”, there wasn’t a single favorite song named twice.  I spent a little time on Google and YouTube this week familiarizing myself with some of the songs you mentioned that I didn’t know. 
  • Favorite Food:  A few repeats here (chocolate, fried chicken, pizza, and cheeseburgers), but after that the foods were just as varied as the songs.  I have to tell you that someone’s Key West Stone Crab with drawn butter sure made me sit up and take notice!  That sounds YUM-MY!
  • Favorite magazine:  Several “People”, and “Good Housekeeping” and “Coastal Living” got a couple of votes.  Then there was a lot of variety.  Two I’d never heard of were “Canada’s History” and Arizona Highways”.
  • Pet other than dog or cat:  Hands down, y’all want HORSES!   I thought the penquin was a very interesting choice, as was the stingray.
  • Childhood plans as a grown-up:  Many of you wanted to teach, and a few would have chosen nursing.  After that the vocations were varied and soooo interesting.  A few of my favorites – Park Ranger, Jockey or Groomer at a race track, and Paul McCartney’s wife!
  • Favorite vacation:  All together now . . . . Mackinac Island!  Besides my favorite spot on earth, y’all have been to some really amazing places.  Some I’d like to see that were mentioned – Alaska, Australia, and Israel.  Most romantic answer:  “Anyplace with my hubby”.  Awww . . .
  • Where ELSE would you like to visit?  Quite a few said Ireland, Italy, and Alaska.  The answers were mostly outside the U.S., but someone said the Northwest rain forests (I’d like to visit there also).  And I loved another’s idea of taking a year to tour the U.S.  One husband said he wanted to show his wife Bali and Thailand.  Very lucky lady!
  • Concert tickets:  Like favorite songs, this one was all over the place, with only Michael Buble, Eric Clapton, and Paul McCartney getting two votes each.  On this one – again – I Googled and YouTubed a few names, and discovered comedian Chonda Pierce in the process.  Oh my gosh, what a funny lady!
  • Famous people you’ve met:  No repeats at all, but lots of interesting stories – kissing Elvis, meeting Bob Dylan and his Bull Mastiff in an elevator, and giving George Strait a speeding ticket!
  • Talent you wish you had:  The majority of you want to sing well, followed closely by playing an instrument.

That’s about all I could do with the results, but I sure want to say thank you for allowing me learn a little more about the group “out there” who tune in to the Hortons’ adventures with such regularity.  I loved getting to know you better, and we will do this again real soon!

 MACKINAC ISLAND – MICHIGAN

The snow is slowly melting, people are still cruising the ice bridge, and the Great Mackinac Island Deer Hunt has been successful!

Greg Main's photo of slushy Market Street this week.  He says it's "pretty late for there to still be this much snow", but now that the melt has started, maybe Spring can get started also.

Greg Main’s photo of slushy Market Street this week. He says it’s “pretty late for there to still be this much snow”, but now that the melt has started, maybe Spring can get started also.

 

Late in the week on the ice bridge.  (Photo:  Nicole Doud)

Late in the week on the ice bridge. (Photo: Nicole Doud)

The Deer Story:  For the last two months there have been sightings of deer on Mackinac.  Some say the deer have been on the island as long as two years (deer often come across the ice during the winter and usually return back across the ice before the big melt).  Finding a deer on the island during the summer is about as likely as finding the proverbial needle in a haystack.  But anyway, there HAVE been rumors that deer did stay on the island last spring and have successfully stayed hidden all this time.  Then again, these could be deer who have just come over THIS winter.  Whatever the story, deer sightings became more and more plentiful the last two months, but no one could capture them on camera . . . until THIS WEEK!

I think this was the first official photo posted.  It shows three deer calmly arriving on the West Bluff in front of the winterized cottages.

I think this was the first official photo posted. It shows three deer calmly arriving on the West Bluff in front of the winterized cottages.  (Photo: Harold Polzin)

 

And then today, Greg Main caught what's believed to be the same three deer behind the West Bluff cottages.  Hoping these sweeties make it back across the ice soon!

And then today, Greg Main caught what’s believed to be the same three deer behind the West Bluff cottages. Hoping these sweeties make it back across the ice soon!

 

BEVERLY BEACH/SUNSET INLET – FLORIDA

The word is our lot was surveyed this week.  Ted plans to go down this coming weekend to check on things.  I may – or may not – go.

LAKE BLACKSHEAR – GEORGIA

As I mentioned on Thursday, we had quite a busy week, and we’re all looking forward to this one coming up, when nobody has any plans or appointments.  Nice!

One of my Pet Partner co-workers, Linda, got this shot of Bear on Thursday at a local assisted living facility.  Two ladies, one on the sofa and the other on a chair next to the sofa, where taking turns getting some Golden love from the Bearster.  When another lady moved off the sofa, Bear just climbed up and took her place, resting his head on this lady's shoulder as if he did it that way every day.  I love this shot.

Linda, one of my Pet Partner co-workers, got this shot of Bear on Thursday at a local assisted living facility. Two ladies, one on the sofa and the other on a chair next to the sofa, were taking turns getting some Golden love from the Bearster. When another lady moved off the sofa, Bear just climbed up and took her place, resting his head on this lady’s shoulder as if he did it just that way every day. He is such a ham!

 

It rained all day Friday, and then late Friday afternoon the wind kicked in.  An hour later we had waves crashing over the sea wall into our yard, creating giant puddles of water inside the fence.  The strange thing was there was no thunder and lightning - just rain and wind.  Lots of debris in the yard to clean up the next morning!

It rained all day Friday, and then late Friday afternoon the wind kicked in. An hour later we had waves crashing over the sea wall into our yard, creating giant puddles of water inside the fence. No thunder and lightning – just rain and wind – and lots of debris in the yard to clean up the next morning!

 

I’m going to close with a little tribute tonight.  When Melody mentioned she lost her kitty, Oreo, this week, she was the third person I’d heard from recently who had lost a precious pet that was featured in the tribute collages for Marty Harris a few weeks ago.  There was also one pet I heard about who didn’t make it into Marty’s collage, but whose “Mom” let me know he had crossed the Rainbow Bridge.  All of these babies led wonderful, long, love-filled lives, and I just thought it would be nice to feature them one more time.

Deborah C's Morgaine

Deborah’s Morgaine

 

Melody J's Orea

Melody’s  Oreo

 

Nancy's Shaggy Dog

Nancy’s Shaggy Dog

 

Heidi's Buddy

Heidi’s Buddy

A friend sent a quote to me this week on Facebook, and I wondered why.  It was that day I heard about Melody’s cat, and I thought, “That’s why I got the quote – so I could share it with Melody.”  That’s what I did, and although it mentions dogs, the same is true for cats, horses, birds, hamsters – any creature we have loved and cherished over the years.  Here it is:

quote

It’s my special prayer tonight – after grieving the loss –  that each of these families will continue to expand their hearts, and that all of us leave this earth one day with very big hearts created by all the animals we have loved.

God bless.

 

14 thoughts on “This and That 3/30/2014

  1. Oh Brenda, thank you….it has been a sad week, and I am still quite weepy. Morgaine was with us for 18 years, and it is so hard to realize I won’t see her on this plane anymore- but I truly believe we will all be together again one day. In the meantime, Morgaine, Oreo, Shaggy Dog and Heidi’s buddy are hanging out with St. Francis and all the other precious friends. Thanks for mentioning dear Morgy. Tomorrow, she will come home in a wee cedar box, with a clay footprint impression, and join Gilmour and Olivia on the shelf. Thank you so much. Have a great week.

  2. There were some many comments on your last blog , and so interesting and fun to read all the answers. Love the deer, story and pictures. Melody, Nancy and Heidi, big hugs all around. So sorry for the loss of your furbabies. 😦 They will stay in your heart forever.

  3. Brenda, I was the one that loves the Key West Stone Crab. Turtle Kraal’s is a great place to enjoy them. Weather permitting eat outside at their wharf/patio if you get the chance sometime. Excellent key lime pie there as well! Maureen from Grand Ledge, MI.

  4. Bree…Bless your heart. Thank-you so much for the sweet tribute to all of our pets. That was so touching. I’ll have to show my boys tomorrow. Your kindness has meant so much to me and my family.
    Deborah, Nancy, and Heidi…I am so sorry for your loss as well. I pray that we all find comfort in knowing our fur-babies are no longer suffering and they’ve all crossed Rainbow Bridge together. Sending you all hugs!
    Bree…the deer photos are beautiful! I’ve always thought it would be amazing to see one on the island!

  5. Very sad to hear of the loss of these pets. A wise working dog sergeant once told me when my very first working dog passed on; when I was still a young airman says, “that the reason they only grace our lives for a short time is that because we as humans are not equipped to deal with the greater sadness if we could just keep them with us a longer. What we learn from these great animals in such short years gives us the experience to move on to teach the next pup we have the privilege to work with and train. Knowing that those working dogs from our past are looking down and smiling upon us, gives us the strength and courage to move on”……..made a lot of sense to me.

    So my heart goes out to those that lost their beloved pets, but I believe they are in a better place and looking down on you now, and will wait for you to be reunited one day.

    Bree, good post as always. I enjoyed the Mackinac pics especially the 3 deer.

    I want to close my comments with the Working Dog Poem titled Guardians of the Night. Geared towards working dogs but some of you may find a way for it to relate to you.

    Guardians Of The Night

    Author – Unknown

    Trust in me my friend for I am
    your comrade. I will protect you
    with my last breath When all
    others have left you And the
    loneliness of the night closes
    in, I will be at your side.

    Together we will conquer all
    obstacles, And search out
    those who might wish harm to
    others. All I ask of you is
    compassion, The caring touch
    of your hands. It is for you that I
    will unselfishly give my life And
    spend my nights unrested.
    Although our days together
    May be marked by the passing
    of the seasons Know that each
    day at your side is my reward.

    My days are measured by The
    coming and going of your
    footsteps. I anticipate them at
    every opening of the door. You
    are the voice of caring when I
    am ill. The voice of authority
    when I’ve done wrong.

    Do not chastise me unduly For
    I am your right arm, The sword
    at your side. I attempt to do
    only what you bid of me. I seek
    only to please you and remain
    in your favor.

    Together you and I shall
    experience A bond only others
    like us will understand When
    outsiders see us together Their
    envy will be measured by their
    disdain.

    I will quietly listen to you And
    pass no judgment, Nor will your
    spoken words be repeated I will
    remain ever silent, Ever vigilant,
    ever loyal. And when our time
    together is done And you move
    on in the world Remember me
    with kind thoughts and tales,
    For a time we were unbeatable,
    Nothing passed among us
    undetected.

    If we should meet again on
    another field I will gladly take
    up your fight, I am a Military Police
    Working Dog and together We
    are guardians of the night.

    • I can’t even begin to find the words to comment on what you’ve shared with us, Jason. Tears were rolling down my face before I got
      past the first few sentences of the Guardians of the Night poem.
      Thank you for what you and your teams – both dogs and men – do for our country. And thank you for sharing this poem with us.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  6. Thank you for sharing the wonderful pet tribute with us. My heart goes out to everyone who lost a pet. Jason, an amazing poem. Thank you for sharing it with us. Love the pictures of the 3 deers. Hope they are still on the Island this Spring. What a wonderful place to roam.

  7. Ok, now I am done crying.

    The deer are so exciting on the island! Here in Iowa we see them almost daily but it is still a thrill to catch a glimpse of them. Of course I love them more than most people because we have a body shop! LOL!

  8. I’m sorry for all those recently who had lost their family friend. It is so hard as most of us have gone through. I’m on my 4th pet and losing all of them was hard. The quote you posted was so true! On a happier note, I loved the deer photos and I hope they get off before the ice bridge is gone. I’m sorry I didn’t get to chime in on the answers to all your questions as I was out of town……..we ventured up to the Ludington area for the weekend. Still lots of snow of the ground there also.

  9. Thank you for mentioning our beloved Buddy in this post! Our hearts still aches at the loss; our house is so empty. We take comfort knowing that Buddy isn’t sick any more and treasure the wonderful memories of having had him in our lives for so long. Peace & hugs to Deborah, Nancy & Melody.

Leave a comment